It’s official: Lynn Woolsey will retire after 20 years in Congress

Rep. Woolsey announced that she will retire from the House when her current term expires. The full text of her speech can be read here, but the key quote came at the conclusion:

“But I will turn 75 years old just before the next Election Day, and after two decades of service to this district, it will be time for me to move on. And so, with enormous gratitude but not an ounce of regret, I am announcing that I will not run for re-election in 2012. I will retire at the end of my current term.

“I leave it to you, the people of the Sixth District, to decide who should take up the mantle and continue this important work.

“It’s been such a privilege to serve. From the bottom of my heart: thank you.”

The very progressive Lynn Woolsey was able to convince the heavily Democrat 6th District to vote her into office ten times. For many of us who opposed her expansionary government, big spending views, it has been a long twenty years.

I wish Rep. Woolsey well in her retirement. I hope it is a complete retirement from public office of any kind.

Whether I or you will be a 6th District voter after the Redistricting Commission completes its final maps (and the inevitable court challenges are over) remains to be seen. At the moment, it looks as though I will not be in the coastal district in which Norman Solomon and Jared Huffman expect to run. That will be all to the good, since I couldn’t support either of them.

But for the moment, back to the events of today. Yes, I do wish Lynn Woolsey all the best. Despite the vast differences in most of our political beliefs, I respect her willingness to have served in government, and one of the things I think can be said of her is that she did not go to Washington to get rich off the public larder and as far as I know, she never committed any ethics violations or brought scandal on herself or her district. For these things, I thank her.

About district6voter

A concerned Northern California citizen who believes Representative Lynn Woolsey ought to be replaced in November, 2010.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

